Liquid Mind: Abstractions by Jennifer Bryan

Monday, October 25, 2021

+ 10 dates

  • Tuesday, October 26, 2021
  • Wednesday, October 27, 2021
  • Thursday, October 28, 2021
  • Friday, October 29, 2021
  • Monday, November 1, 2021
  • Tuesday, November 2, 2021
  • Wednesday, November 3, 2021
  • Thursday, November 4, 2021
  • Friday, November 5, 2021
  • Monday, November 8, 2021

23 University Dr, Northfield, Vermont 5663

https://www.norwich.edu/museum
View map Add to calendar

Please join the Sullivan Museum and History Center for a remarkable exhibition featuring a colorful selection of abstract paintings by Norwich alumna Jennifer Bryan ’05. Bryan’s collection of abstract work is meant to convey current states of mind, visually encapsulating the ebbs and flows of manic depression, along with capturing moments otherwise dulled due to short-term memory loss. Jennifer’s work is a statement about mental health and the importance of self-care and healing.

A self-taught artist since 2018, Jennifer works in mental health with children where the importance of coping strategies is paramount to encourage growth and self-regulation. By integrating and regenerating feelings and moments to canvas, Jennifer hopes to bring attention to the need for mental illness education and destigmatization. 

Born in Berlin, Vermont, Jennifer received her education in Central Vermont and began school at Norwich University at 16 years old, ultimately graduating with highest honors at 20. Jennifer is among a long line of family involved with Norwich, including her grandfather, Pop Bryan, Professor of Geology; grandmother, Vivian Bryan, long-time librarian; Shawn Bryan ’70, M’02, and MBA ’03; Helen Bryan, Housing Officer and Adjutant for the Commandant’s Office for 15 years; and Rachel Bryan ’99. 

Map of Sullivan Museum & History Center
Norwich University Powered by the Localist Community Event Platform © All rights reserved